KetamineHQ

At-Home Ketamine Therapy: Providers, Costs & Insurance

Telehealth companies prescribe ketamine you take at home after a video evaluation. Here's every provider currently operating, what each charges (from $76 per session or $124 per month), which states they serve, and what to weigh before choosing at-home over a clinic.

Rules may change on January 1, 2027. Federal permission to prescribe ketamine by telehealth without an in-person visit currently runs through December 31, 2026. We'll update these pages when the DEA publishes its permanent rule. Last reviewed October 13, 2026.

Compare at-home ketamine providers

ProviderStarting priceApproachFormStatesHSA/FSA
MindbloomVisit website →$1,290 for 6 sessionsSession-basedSublingual tablets or subcutaneous injections39Yes
Better UVisit website →$500 for 5 sessionsSession-basedCompounded lozenges30Not stated
JoyousVisit website →$129/monthDaily low doseDaily very-low-dose compounded troches28Yes
NutraBrain ClinicVisit website →$299 per visit + medicationTelepsychiatryNasal spray, troches or dissolving tablets13Yes
Elevate Ketamine (Elevate Holistics)Visit website →$249/monthDaily low doseOral lozenges or sublingual tablets, low dose5Not stated
KalmVisit website →$124/monthDaily low doseDaily low-dose ketamine (form not stated on its homepage)Not publishedYes

At-home ketamine by state

Number of providers that publish your state as served.

Is at-home ketamine covered by insurance?

Not by any provider in this comparison. Every operating at-home program is self-pay. Some soften that:

  • HSA and FSA cards: Mindbloom, Joyous, NutraBrain and Kalm accept them, so you can pay with pre-tax money.
  • Superbills: Mindbloom gives you an itemized bill to submit to your insurer yourself. Partial out-of-network reimbursement is possible for the clinician visits, though rarely for the ketamine itself.
  • What insurance does cover: Spravato (esketamine), the FDA-approved nasal spray, is often covered for treatment-resistant depression, but only at a certified clinic, never at home. See ketamine vs. Spravato and how insurance covers ketamine treatment.

How at-home programs work

  1. An online screening and video evaluation with a clinician licensed in your state, who reviews your psychiatric and medical history.
  2. If approved, a prescription for compounded ketamine — dissolving tablets, troches or lozenges you hold in your mouth, or in some programs a nasal spray or injection — shipped from a compounding pharmacy.
  3. Doses at home, on a schedule set by the prescriber.
  4. Follow-up by video, text or app, from weekly check-ins to one or two visits a year depending on the program.

Two very different approaches exist:

  • Session-based programs (Mindbloom, Better U) use a dose large enough for a guided experience a few times a month, usually with a sober adult present, blood pressure checked and eyes covered.
  • Daily low-dose programs (Joyous, Kalm, Elevate) use small daily doses meant to avoid a strong altered state.

At-home vs. clinic: cost and what you get

At-home programs cost roughly $76–$215 per session or $124–$249 per month for daily low-dose programs (prices published by the providers above). Clinic IV infusions typically run $400–$550 each (median $450); see how much ketamine therapy costs.

The lower price buys less:

  • Absorption. Ketamine taken by mouth is absorbed far less efficiently than IV, so effects are gentler, slower and less controllable once taken. Compare IV vs. IM ketamine.
  • Monitoring. In a clinic, staff watch your blood pressure and can respond straight away. At home, your safety net is a blood-pressure cuff and whoever is with you.
  • Evidence. The strongest trial evidence for ketamine comes from supervised IV dosing. The best-known at-home study — about 1,250 Mindbloom patients, published in 2022 — reported large improvements, but it had no control group and was funded by the company.

Many people use both: an infusion series to get well, then a supervised at-home protocol for maintenance. Find a ketamine clinic near you.

Is at-home ketamine legal?

Yes, for now — with a deadline.

  • Federal rule: ketamine is a Schedule III controlled substance. A temporary DEA rule (90 FR 61301) lets clinicians prescribe it by video visit without an in-person exam through December 31, 2026. The DEA has sent a permanent "special registration for telemedicine" rule for White House review. If neither that rule nor another extension takes effect, an in-person visit becomes required again from January 1, 2027. We'll update this page when the rule is published.
  • State rules: some states add their own limits on prescribing controlled substances by telehealth, such as requiring an in-person visit first. Check your state's page and ask the provider how they comply.
  • FDA status: ketamine is not FDA-approved for depression or any psychiatric condition; at-home ketamine is compounded and prescribed off-label. In 2023 the FDA warned specifically about at-home use of compounded ketamine without on-site monitoring. Compounded ketamine is not "generic Spravato" — they are different drugs.

Safety: who should not do this at home

Responsible programs will screen you out if any of these apply:

  • Uncontrolled high blood pressure or significant heart disease — ketamine briefly raises blood pressure and heart rate
  • A personal or strong family history of psychosis or mania
  • Active substance-use problems — ketamine can be misused, and a home supply makes extra doses easy
  • Pregnancy
  • No sober adult available during session-based doses
  • Combining with sedatives such as benzodiazepines (for example Xanax), opioids or alcohol, which raises the risk of dangerous sedation

Two risks are specific to home use: dose creep, because a supply is on hand, and bladder problems, which are linked to frequent heavy use. A trustworthy program tracks refills and asks about urinary symptoms; one that auto-ships without check-ins is a red flag. The CDC's ketamine fact sheet lists the risks of unmonitored use.

Questions to ask any at-home program

  1. Is my evaluation a live video visit with a clinician licensed in my state?
  2. What happens if I have a panic reaction or a medical problem mid-session?
  3. How are dose changes decided, and what limits refills?
  4. Is therapy or integration support included, or extra?
  5. What's the total cost, and what happens if I want to stop?
  6. What's your plan if the federal telehealth rules change on January 1, 2027?

Providers that have closed or stopped offering ketamine

Some comparison sites still list these. As of our last review they no longer offer at-home ketamine:

  • InnerwellClosed (August 2026)
  • Nue LifePaused operations; website offline
  • WondermedNo longer offers ketamine; site now redirects to an unrelated program
  • Field Trip HealthClosed (March 2023)
  • Ketamine Wellness CentersClosed (March 2023)
  • Choose Your Horizon (formerly Choose Ketamine)No longer offers ketamine

At-home ketamine: FAQ

Is at-home ketamine covered by insurance?

No at-home ketamine provider we list accepts insurance. Several accept HSA and FSA cards, and Mindbloom provides a superbill you can submit for possible partial out-of-network reimbursement. Spravato, the FDA-approved esketamine nasal spray, is often covered, but only at a certified clinic.

How much does at-home ketamine cost?

Published prices run from about $76 to $215 per session for session-based programs, and $124 to $249 per month for daily low-dose programs. Clinic IV infusions typically cost $400 to $550 each.

Is at-home ketamine legal?

Yes, currently. A temporary DEA rule allows ketamine to be prescribed by video visit without an in-person exam through December 31, 2026. Some states add their own requirements, and the federal rules may change on January 1, 2027.

Is at-home ketamine FDA-approved?

No. At-home ketamine is compounded and prescribed off-label; ketamine isn't FDA-approved for any psychiatric condition. The FDA warned in 2023 about at-home use of compounded ketamine without monitoring.

KetamineHQ receives no payment from any provider listed and has no affiliate links on these pages. Providers are ordered by how many states they publish as served. Prices, states and policies come from each provider's own website on the date shown; confirm details with the provider before you sign up. This is general information, not medical advice.